Web Analytics

Tim McGraw Tapes Hot “Summer Night” Special

Luke Bryan, Taylor Swift and John Fogerty among Tim’s guests.

Photo by Kevin Winter/ACMA2013/Getty Images for ACM

Summer started early last night (April 8) in Las Vegas when Tim McGraw taped his Superstar Summer Night concert, an all-genre, all-star special that is set to air May 19 on CBS. And Tim’s guests certainly brought the heat to what was an unseasonably cool night in Sin City.

Hip-hop star Pitbull joined Tim on a high-energy interpretation of Tim’s “Felt Good on My Lips.” He was just one of three hip-hop artists to perform, along with Ne-Yo, who enlisted Tim for a duet on his own album R.E.D., and Nelly, who joined Florida Georgia Line to bounce his way through the new pop-radio remix of FGL’s monster hit “Cruise.”

On the country side, Keith Urban and Taylor Swift re-created their collaboration on Tim’s new single, “Highway Don’t Care,” The Band Perry stormed through “DONE.” and newly crowned ACM Entertainer of the Year Luke Bryan sang his new single, the surprisingly romantic “Crash My Party.”

Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley and Lady Antebellum—who debuted their new song “Goodbye Town,” from their upcoming album, Golden, out May 7—also took the stage. As did Rock and Roll Hall of Famer John Fogerty, who led Jason, Luke, Keith and Tim through a swampy and captivating jam on Creedence Clearwarer Revival’s “Born on the Bayou.”

But ultimately, it was Tim’s night, and the showman put the “superstar” in the special’s title with performances of Two Lanes of Freedom fan favorite “Mexicoma,” “Something Like That” and, though likely unseen when Superstar Summer Night airs on TV, an a cappella version of George Strait’s “You Look So Good in Love.”


Don’t miss an issue! Subscribe to Nash Country Weekly.

More News

The Gambler’s Last Deal begins May 13 in Mahnomen, Minn.
Video features his Wife Alex and Dog Writer as the main characters.
Sam Hunt leads the field with nods in three categories.
New single, “Outskirts of Heaven,” has youngsters thinking.
The faith-fueled tune is part of Blake’s new album, “If I’m Honest.”