Web Analytics

Terri Clark Duets With Reba, Dierks on New Album

Here's a Christmas gift that combines the best of old and new. Terri Clark’s new album, Classic, features Terri performing some of her favorite classic country hits—sometimes on her own and sometimes with the help of an amazing cast of country stars including Dierks Bentley and Reba McEntire.

Terri tells Country Weekly, “These are the songs that led up to and are part of what made me who I am as an artist. And songs that I sang with my grandparents and my mom sitting around at family gatherings.” But it wasn’t that easy for the country star, who has always paid homage to the music that came before, to narrow down the list of which songs she wanted to record. “The list, of course, started off at like 100,” Terri says, laughing. “There’s a book called Heartaches by the Number and it’s got the top 500 country songs. I went through that book and just started highlighting songs.” She says that was actually the easiest part. “I found the last 20 was the hardest to whittle down because then you had to choose: OK, if I do a George Jones and Tammy Wynette song, then do I put a George Jones or Tammy Wynette song on here, too?”

She let her duet partners pick what songs they wanted to sing with her, which helped determine the final track list. The result is something of which Terri is very proud, as well as an album her fans are loving. “It’s been such an overwhelming positive response that maybe, if I’m pushed enough and people love this enough and they feel it makes sense, in a few years I would love to do a volume two," she says. "I had such a great time doing this one."

Terri's album Classic is currently available on iTunes.

Classic's track list:

  1. “It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels”
  2. “Love Is a Rose”
  3. “How Blue” – featuring Reba McEntire
  4. “Gentle on My Mind”
  5. “Don’t Come Home A-Drinkin’”
  6. “Leavin’ on Your Mind” – featuring Jann Arden
  7. “Golden Ring” – featuring Dierks Bentley
  8. “Two More Bottles of Wine”
  9. “Delta Dawn” – featuring Tanya Tucker
  10. “Swinging Doors”
  11. “I’m Movin’ On” – featuring Dean Brody


Don’t miss an issue! Subscribe to Nash Country Weekly.

More News

The Gambler’s Last Deal begins May 13 in Mahnomen, Minn.
Video features his Wife Alex and Dog Writer as the main characters.
Sam Hunt leads the field with nods in three categories.
New single, “Outskirts of Heaven,” has youngsters thinking.
The faith-fueled tune is part of Blake’s new album, “If I’m Honest.”