Web Analytics

Taylor Swift, Kacey Musgraves Lead CMA Awards Nominations

Blake Shelton, FGL, Miranda Lambert all earn multiple nods.

Kacey by Kelly Christine Musgraves/Sandbox Entertainment; Taylor by Brian Doben/Firefly Entertainment

The 47th annual Country Music Association Awards nominations were revealed on ABC’s Good Morning America this morning by Florida Georgia Line and Sheryl Crow. Kacey Musgraves and Taylor Swift emerged as the leaders with six nominations apiece. Taylor earned nods for Entertainer of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year (Red), and three nominations—Musical Event, Music Video and Single of the Year—for her part in Tim McGraw’s “Highway Don’t Care.”

Kacey also got nominations for Album of the Year (Same Trailer Different Park) and Female Vocalist, but the rising star also landed in the New Artist of the Year category, and her song “Merry Go ’Round,” is up for Single of the Year. Additionally, she’ll compete against herself in the Song of the Year Category, where “Merry Go ’Round’ is nominated along with her Miranda Lambert cut “Mama’s Broken Heart.”

Miranda’s husband, Blake Shelton, was a runner-up for most nods, with five. He’s up for Entertainer of the Year and Male Vocalist, plus his Based on a True Story . . . got an Album of the Year nod and his hit “Boys ’Round Here” got nominations for Musical Event and Music Video. Miranda Lambert got three of her own nominations, plus those for Pistol Annies. Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley added four nods, as did Keith Urban, followed by three each for Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw and Carrie Underwood

The 47th Annual CMA Awards, hosted by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, will be held Wednesday, Nov. 6, and broadcast live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on the ABC Television Network.

2013 CMA Awards Nominees

Entertainer of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan
  • Blake Shelton
  • George Strait
  • Taylor Swift

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelly Clarkson
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Taylor Swift
  • Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Blake Shelton
  • Keith Urban

New Artist of the Year

  • Lee Brice
  • Brett Eldredge
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Kip Moore
  • Kacey Musgraves

Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Big & Rich
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Love and Theft
  • Sugarland
  • The Civil Wars
  • Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Eli Young Band
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • The Band Perry
  • Zac Brown Band

Musician of the Year

  • Sam Bush
  • Paul Franklin
  • Dann Huff
  • Brent Mason
  • Mac McAnally

Song of the Year (award to songwriters)

  • “I Drive Your Truck” — Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington and Jimmy Yeary (performed by Lee Brice)
  • “Mama’s Broken Heart” — Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves (performed by Miranda Lambert)
  • “Merry Go ’Round” — Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osbourne and Shane McAnally (performed by Kacey Musgraves)
  • “Pontoon” — Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird and Barry Dean (performed by Little Big Town)
  • “Wagon Wheel” — Bob Dylan and Ketch Secor (performed by Darius Rucker)

Single of the Year (award to artist and producer)

  • “Cruise” — Florida Georgia Line (produced by Joey Moi)
  • “Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban (produced by Byron Gallimore and Tim McGraw)
  • “Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert (produced by Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf and Chuck Ainlay)
  • “Merry Go ’Round” — Kacey Musgraves (produced by Luke Laird, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves)
  • “Wagon Wheel” — Darius Rucker (produced by Frank Rogers)

Album of the Year (award to artist and producer)

  • Blake Shelton — Based on a True Story . . . (produced by Scott Hendricks)
  • Carrie Underwood — Blown Away (produced by Mark Bright)
  • Taylor Swift — Red (produced by Jeff Bhasker, Scott Borchetta, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Butch Walker and Dan Wilson)
  • Kacey Musgraves — Same Trailer Different Park (produced by Kacey Musgraves, Luke Laird and Shane McAnally)
  • Little Big Town — Tornado (produced by Jay Joyce)

Music Video (award to artist and director)

  • “Blown Away” — Carrie Underwood (directed by Randee St. Nicholas)
  • “Boys ’Round Here” — Blake Shelton feat. Pistol Annies (directed by Trey Fanjoy)
  • “Downtown” — Lady Antebellum (directed by Peter Zavadil)
  • “Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban (directed by Shane Drake)
  • “Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert (directed by Trey Fanjoy)
  • “Tornado” — Little Big Town (directed by Shane Drake)

Musical Event

  • “Boys ’Round Here” — Blake Shelton feat. Pistol Annies
  • “Cruise” — Florida Georgia Line with Nelly
  • “Don’t Rush” — Kelly Clarkson feat. Vince Gill
  • “Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
  • “The Only Way I Know” — Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church


Don’t miss an issue! Subscribe to Nash Country Weekly.

More News

The Gambler’s Last Deal begins May 13 in Mahnomen, Minn.
Video features his Wife Alex and Dog Writer as the main characters.
Sam Hunt leads the field with nods in three categories.
New single, “Outskirts of Heaven,” has youngsters thinking.
The faith-fueled tune is part of Blake’s new album, “If I’m Honest.”