Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Inductees

(Clockwise from top left) Nashville Songwriiters Hall of Fame Board Chair and Hall of Fame member Pat Alger, John Anderson, Gretchen Peters, Hall of Fame executive director Mark Ford, Tom Douglas and Paul Craft
photo courtesy Alliance Media Relations

John Anderson leads this year’s class of new inductees to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, which were revealed Tuesday (July 8) at a press conference at Music City Center in Nashville. Joining John are celebrated songwriters Paul Craft, Gretchen Peters and Tom Douglas. All four will be officially inducted during the 44th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame & Induction Ceremony, Oct. 5, at Music City Center. The awards are presented in conjunction with Nashville Songwriters Association International.

John Anderson

John wrote many of his best-known hits, including the award-winning “Swingin’” and “Seminole Wind.” He will be inducted in the Songwriter/Artist category. John told Country Weekly following the announcement that he was pleased to be recognized for his songwriting.

“That means an awful lot to me because we fought so hard for many of the songs I’d written,” John said. “I figured out early on that writing your own songs could be very helpful to your career. I was fortunate to have great writers around me who would help and advise me.” 

Paul Craft

Paul Craft has written an eclectic mix of hits, including “Dropkick Me, Jesus” by Bobby Bare and “Brother Jukebox” by Mark Chesnutt. He has also had songs recorded by such bluegrass greats as Earl Scruggs and Dr. Ralph Stanley.

Gretchen Peters

Gretchen Peters first found songwriting success with “The Chill of an Early Fall,” recorded by George Strait. Her most widely known song is the anthemic “Independence Day” by Martina McBride, which won the 1995 Country Music Association award for Song of the Year.

Tom Douglas

Tom Douglas scored one of his early songwriting hits with “Little Rock” by Collin Raye. He also co-penned Lady Antebellum’s “I Run to You“ and “The House That Built Me” by Miranda Lambert, the 2010 Country Music Association award winner for Song of the Year.

Our congratulations go out to all of this year’s inductees.


More News

The American Idol judge needed only an acoustic guitar or a minimal rhythm section to delight the crowd.
Duo celebrates their No. 1 hit "Girl in a Country Song" at Nashville bash.
Rising stars shined at special Opry show to kick off Country Radio Seminar.
Our 10 favorite moments from the “Drinking Class” singer’s milestone show.
The band goes all in on country music’s big decade, including the fashion and hair.