Web Analytics

Hall Welcomes Two New Members

Ferlin Husky and legendary record producer Billy Sherrill were officially welcomed as new members of the Country Music Hall of Fame at the Medallion Ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville, May 23.



Ferlin Husky and Charley Pride

Ferlin Husky

Ferlin is considered one of the pioneers of the so-called “Nashville Sound” with songs like “Gone,” a ten-week No. 1 in 1957, and his 1960 standard, “Wings of a Dove,” which also topped the charts for 10 weeks. Ronnie McDowell, backed by the Jordanaires and soprano vocalist Millie Kirkham, performed “Gone” in tribute to Ferlin. “This is one of my favorite all-time songs,” Ronnie told the invited guests. Also paying musical tribute were Ricky Skaggs and The Whites performing “Wings of A Dove.” Charley Pride, a close friend of Ferlin’s, officially inducted the 84-year-old singer. Ferlin, who became quite emotional during his acceptance speech, simply said, “God bless everyone here and everybody who had anything to do with bringing me here."

Billy Sherrill

Billy Sherrill and Frances Preston

Billy Sherrill, who was also a successful songwriter, produced some of country’s most legendary stars, including Tammy Wynette, George Jones, Tanya Tucker and Charlie Rich. Billy was behind the board for such classics as Tammy’s “Stand by Your Man,” Charlie’s “The Most Beautiful Girl” and George Jones’ “He Stopped Loving Her Today,” often considered the greatest song in country music history. Performing in Billy’s honor were Craig Morgan, who covered the David Houston standard, “Almost Persuaded,” Shelby Lynne with “Stand by Your Man” and Ronnie Milsap with “The Most Beautiful Girl.” The tribute featured a special rendition of “He Stopped Loving Her Today” by Lee Ann Womack, with Hall of Fame musician Charlie McCoy on harmonica. Former BMI President and CEO Frances Preston officially inducted Billy into the Hall of Fame.

On hand for the evening were Country Music Hall of Fame members Vince Gill, Barbara Mandrell and Sonny James, along with music industry executives and members of the media. The two other members of the Class of 2010 Hall of Fame inductees, Jimmy Dean and Don Williams, will be welcomed at a separate Medallion Ceremony, Oct. 24.


Don’t miss an issue! Subscribe to Nash Country Weekly.

More News

The Gambler’s Last Deal begins May 13 in Mahnomen, Minn.
Video features his Wife Alex and Dog Writer as the main characters.
Sam Hunt leads the field with nods in three categories.
New single, “Outskirts of Heaven,” has youngsters thinking.
The faith-fueled tune is part of Blake’s new album, “If I’m Honest.”