Web Analytics

Eric Church Leads in CMA Nominations

Jason, Kenny, Brad, Blake and Taylor vie for Entertainer of the Year.

The 46th annual Country Music Association Awards nominations were announced this morning in New York City, with Luke Bryan and Jason Aldean doing the honors. And both artists were well-rewarded for their efforts: they each scored two nominations in the initial categories. Luke is up for Album of the Year for Tailgates & Tanlines, and competes with his buddy Jason for Male Vocalist of the Year. Jason also scored his second consecutive nomination in the coveted Entertainer of the Year category. Also vying for Entertainer are Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton and last year's winner, Taylor Swift.

But the Awards' top nominee is Eric Church, who, on the strength of his No. 1 single "Springsteen," leads all nominees with five: for Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Single of the Year and Video of the Year.

Here is the complete rundown:

Entertainer of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Kenny Chesney
  • Brad Paisley
  • Blake Shelton
  • Taylor Swift

Album of the Year 

  • Eric Church - Chief
  • Miranda Lambert - Four the Record
  • Dierks Bentley - Home
  • Lady Antebellum - Own the Night
  • Luke Bryan - Tailgates & Tanlines

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Blake Shelton
  • Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelly Clarkson
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Martina McBride
  • Taylor Swift
  • Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Eli Young Band
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • The Band Perry
  • Zac Brown Band

Musician of the Year

  • Sam Bush (mandolin)
  • Paul Franklin (steel guitar)
  • Dann Huff (guitar)
  • Brent Mason (guitar)
  • Mac McAnally (guitar)

Single of the Year

  • "Dirt Road Anthem" - Jason Aldean
  • "God Gave Me You" - Blake Shelton
  • "Home" - Dierks Bentley
  • "Pontoon" - Little Big Town
  • "Springsteen" - Eric Church

Song of the Year

  • "Even If It Breaks Your Heart" - Eli Young Band
  • "God Gave Me You" - Blake Shelton
  • "Home" - Dierks Bentley
  • "Over You" - Miranda Lambert
  • "Springsteen" - Eric Church

Musical Event of the Year

  • "Dixie Highway" - Alan Jackson and Zac Brown
  • "Feel like a Rock Star" - Kenny Chesney and Tim McGraw
  •  "Roll Me Up" - Wilie Nelson, with Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson and Jamey Johnson
  • "Safe and Sound" - Taylor Swift featuring The Civil Wars
  • "Stuck on You" - Lionel Richie and Darius Rucker

Duo of the Year

  • Big & Rich
  • Love and Theft
  • Sugarland
  • The Civil Wars
  • Thompson Square

New Artist

  • Lee Brice
  • Brantley Gilbert
  • Hunter Hayes
  • Love and Theft
  • Thompson Square

Video of the Year

  • "Come Over" - Kenny Chesney
  • "Over You" - Miranda Lambert
  • "Pontoon" - Little Big Town
  • "Red Solo Cup" - Toby Keith
  • "Springsteen" - Eric Church


Don’t miss an issue! Subscribe to Nash Country Weekly.

More News

The Gambler’s Last Deal begins May 13 in Mahnomen, Minn.
Video features his Wife Alex and Dog Writer as the main characters.
Sam Hunt leads the field with nods in three categories.
New single, “Outskirts of Heaven,” has youngsters thinking.
The faith-fueled tune is part of Blake’s new album, “If I’m Honest.”