Nominees for the 42nd annual Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards were announced Monday morning, March 5, in Nashville.

George Strait is the top ACM nominee with eight, while Brooks & Dunn picked up seven nominations. Other top nominees include Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts and Josh Turner. The ACM Awards show will be telecast May 15 on CBS from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Here’s a list of nominees for the major ACM honors.

Entertainer of the Year

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Kenny Chesney
  • Tim McGraw
  • Rascal Flatts
  • George Strait

Top Male Vocalist

  • Kenny Chesney
  • Toby Keith
  • Brad Paisley
  • George Strait
  • Keith Urban

Top Female Vocalist

  • Sara Evans
  • Faith Hill
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Martina McBride
  • Carrie Underwood

Top Vocal Group

  • Diamond Rio
  • Emerson Drive
  • Little Big Town
  • Lonestar
  • Rascal Flatts

Top Vocal Duo

  • Big & Rich
  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Montgomery Gentry
  • Sugarland
  • The Wreckers

Top New Male Vocalist

  • Rodney Atkins
  • Craig Morgan
  • Chris Young

Top New Female Vocalist

  • Miranda Lambert
  • Kellie Pickler
  • Taylor Swift

Top New Duo or Vocal Group

  • Heartland
  • Little Big Town
  • The Wreckers

Album of the Year

  • Hillbilly Deluxe, Brooks & Dunn
    Producers: Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn, Kix Brooks, Mark Wright, Tom Shapiro
  • It Just Comes Natural, George Strait
    Producers: Tony Brown, George Strait
  • Me and My Gang, Rascal Flatts
    Producers: Dann Huff, Rascal Flatts
  • Some Hearts, Carrie Underwood
    Producers: Mark Bright, Dann Huff
  • These Days, Vince Gill
    Producers: Vince Gill, John Hobbs, Justin Niebank

Single Record of the Year

  • "Before He Cheats," Carrie Underwood
    Producer: Mark Bright
  • "Give It Away," George Strait
    Producers: Tony Brown, George Strait
  • "I Loved Her First," Heartland
    Producer: Walt Aldridge
  • "What Hurts the Most," Rascal Flatts
    Producers: Dann Huff, Rascal Flatts
  • "Would You Go With Me," Josh Turner
    Producer: Frank Rogers

Song of the Year

  • "Amarillo Sky"
    Artist: Jason Aldean
    Writers: John Rich, Big Kenny, Rodney Clawson, Bart Pursley
  • "Before He Cheats"
    Artist: Carrie Underwood
    Writers: Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear
  • "Give It Away"
    Artist: George Strait
    Writers: Bill Anderson, Buddy Cannon, Jamey Johnson
  • "If You're Going Through Hell (Before the Devil Even Knows)"
    Artist: Rodney Atkins
    Writers: Sam and Annie Tate, Dave Berg
  • "Would You Go With Me"
    Artist: Josh Turner
    Writers: Shawn Camp, John Scott Sherrill

Video of Year

  • "8th of November," Big & Rich
    Producer: Steve Lamar
    Director: George Deaton, Robert Flanigan, Marc Oswald
  • "Amarillo Sky," Jason Aldean
    Producer: Brittany Hailes
    Director: Wes Edwards
  • "Before He Cheats," Carrie Underwood
    Producer: Randy Brewer
    Director: Roman White
  • "Hillbilly Deluxe," Brooks & Dunn
    Producer: Mark Kalbfeld
    Director: Michael Salomon
  • "Seashores of Old Mexico," George Strait
    Producer: Shelli Jury
    Director: Trey Fanjoy

Vocal Event

  • "Building Bridges," Brooks & Dunn with Vince Gill & Sheryl Crow
    Producers: Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn, Kix Brooks
  • "I Don't Want To," Ashley Monroe and Ronnie Dunn
    Producer: Mark Wright
  • "Me and God," Josh Turner featuring Dr. Ralph Stanley and Marty Roe, Dana Williams and Gene Johnson of Diamond Rio
    Producer: Frank Rogers
  • "Politically Uncorrect," Gretchen Wilson featuring Merle Haggard
    Producers: Gretchen Wilson, John Rich and Mark Wright
  • "That's How They Do It in Dixie," Hank Williams Jr. with Gretchen Wilson, Big & Rich and Van Zant
    Producer: Doug Johnson for Curb Productions


More News

“Girl Crush” garners big reaction on “The Tonight Show.”
iHeart Award performers include Florida Georgia Line and Luke Bryan.
Looks like he’s gonna be a hockey player.
CMA Songwriter Series-themed episodes will feature Little Big Town, Brandy Clark and others.
Book passage now for star-packed cruise to the Caribbean.
Three-hour-long set for The Big Revival Tour's opening date features guests Taylor Swift, Joe Walsh and others to the stage.